You are here
> Home > Weekly Preview >
Market Preview for the week beginning October 11, 2021

Blog archive Preview

October 2021 (3 messages)September 2021 (3 messages)August 2021 (5 messages)July 2021 (4 messages)June 2021 (4 messages)May 2021 (5 messages)April 2021 (4 messages)March 2021 (4 messages)February 2021 (4 messages)January 2021 (5 messages)December 2020 (3 messages)November 2020 (4 messages)October 2020 (4 messages)September 2020 (4 messages)August 2020 (5 messages)July 2020 (4 messages)June 2020 (4 messages)May 2020 (4 messages)April 2020 (4 messages)March 2020 (5 messages)February 2020 (4 messages)January 2020 (4 messages)December 2019 (5 messages)November 2019 (4 messages)October 2019 (2 messages)September 2019 (5 messages)August 2019 (3 messages)July 2019 (3 messages)June 2019 (4 messages)May 2019 (3 messages)April 2019 (3 messages)March 2019 (5 messages)February 2019 (4 messages)January 2019 (4 messages)December 2018 (5 messages)November 2018 (4 messages)October 2018 (4 messages)September 2018 (5 messages)August 2018 (4 messages)July 2018 (4 messages)June 2018 (5 messages)May 2018 (3 messages)April 2018 (4 messages)March 2018 (4 messages)February 2018 (3 messages)January 2018 (5 messages)December 2017 (4 messages)November 2017 (4 messages)October 2017 (5 messages)September 2017 (4 messages)August 2017 (4 messages)July 2017 (5 messages)June 2017 (4 messages)May 2017 (4 messages)April 2017 (5 messages)March 2017 (3 messages)February 2017 (4 messages)January 2017 (4 messages)December 2016 (4 messages)November 2016 (4 messages)October 2016 (4 messages)September 2016 (4 messages)August 2016 (4 messages)July 2016 (5 messages)June 2016 (3 messages)May 2016 (4 messages)April 2016 (5 messages)March 2016 (4 messages)February 2016 (4 messages)January 2016 (5 messages)December 2015 (3 messages)November 2015 (5 messages)October 2015 (4 messages)September 2015 (3 messages)August 2015 (5 messages)July 2015 (4 messages)June 2015 (4 messages)May 2015 (5 messages)April 2015 (4 messages)March 2015 (5 messages)February 2015 (3 messages)January 2015 (4 messages)December 2014 (3 messages)November 2014 (5 messages)October 2014 (4 messages)September 2014 (4 messages)August 2014 (4 messages)July 2014 (4 messages)June 2014 (4 messages)May 2014 (4 messages)April 2014 (4 messages)March 2014 (4 messages)February 2014 (4 messages)January 2014 (4 messages)December 2013 (2 messages)November 2013 (3 messages)

Weighted values
Index 19 October 2021

DJIA:
Silver:

Read more »
Print

Market Preview for the week beginning October 11, 2021

Market Preview for the week beginning October 11, 2021

Market preview goes to Members by email for free.

 

 

Review and Preview  

The U.S. economy created jobs at a much slower-than-expected pace in September, a pessimistic sign about the state of the economy… Nonfarm payrolls rose by just 194,000 in the month, compared with the Dow Jones estimate of 500,000, the Labor Department reported Friday. The unemployment rate fell to 4.8%, better than the expectation for 5.1% and the lowest since February 2020. – Jeff Cox, “September’s Jobs Creation Comes Up Short With Gain Of Just 194,000,” www.cnbc.com, October 8, 2021.

September’s wage gains provided more fuel to the argument that the current pace of inflation could run longer than many economists anticipate. – Jeff Cox, “Strong Wage Gains Cast Doubt That Inflation Is Going Away Anytime Soon,” www.cnbc.com, October 8, 2021.

It is hard to say which had the stronger correspondence to the sharp price swings in global equity indices last week: the new Moon in Libra, the Sun conjunct Mars, or the midpoint of the Mercury retrograde cycle.

The new Moon in Libra has a greater association with highs in world stock indices, but last week’s lows were the story of the week on October 6 when the lunation took place. Perhaps that is because Mercury retrograde is also, a time when many technical or chart patterns exhibit the opposite of their historical tendencies or give false buy and sell signals that are negated soon afterwards. The midpoint of the three-week retrograde cycle was October 7-8.

Then there is the Sun/Mars 25-month synodic cycle. Historically this geocosmic signature has a strong correlation to 8-20% reversals in stock indices within an orb of 8°. That would cover the period from September 13 through November 1. The exact date the conjunction took place was October 7 in the USA. Whatever the correlation, global stock indices made a Trickster-like sudden reversal from their multi-week decline in the middle of last week and then staged strong rallies.

Looking back, we can see that not all world stock indices suffered an 8% or greater decline from their recent highs. Perhaps the most stunning example of this occurrence was in Japan, where the Nikkei Index soared to a 31-year high of 30,795 on September 14, a geocosmic 2-star critical reversal date (CRD). Three weeks later, on October 6, it plummeted to 27,292, a loss of 11.37%. The Hang Seng in Hong Kong had fallen 10.8%, while the Zurich SMI fell 9.6% into last week’s low. In the U.S., the nearby NASDAQ futures fell 8.5% from its all-time high on September 7 to the low of October 6. But then a funny thing happened on the way to the stock market forum. Everything suddenly reversed from the lows of the new Moon on October 6 and the next two days saw healthy rallies. Was that the end of the Sun/Mars decline? It could be, given that several technical indicators have now switched to a bullish mode. However, with the Trickster still retrograde until October 18, misleading and conflicting signals are still possible. It is never a given when he is on the loose.

In other markets, Crude Oil finally touched the $80/barrel level on Friday, October 8 for the first time since November 2014. Bitcoin exploded again, reaching 56,141 on Friday, and starting to make a challenge to its all-time highs around 65,000. Just three months ago it was making lows around 28,800, so that is a nearly 100% gain for the leader of the cryptos.

In the so-called “stable” currencies, the Euro fell to 1.1527 last week, again on October 6, its lowest point in over a year. However, this didn’t seem to bother Gold and Silver, which on Friday were at their highest levels since their recent lows on September 29. Silver especially looks interesting now, following its yearly low of 21.41 less than two weeks ago.

 

 

Short-term Geocosmics and Longer-term Thoughts 

House prices are rising at a record pace, but incomes aren’t keeping up – which is making home ownership less and less affordable. – Orla McCaffrey, “Home Affordability Hits Lowest Point in Years,” Wall Street Journal, October 4, 2021

IMF Managing Director Kristalina Georgieva cited rising risks from inflation, debt, and a divergence in growth prospects between nations with access to coronavirus vaccines and those in need of shots. Martin Crutsinger, “IMF Scales Back Global Recovery Projections,” Associated Press, October 8, 2021

I always look forward to this time of the year because it marks the time when I go into seclusion to write the greater part of the annual Forecast Book. And that exercise provides me the opportunity to research and review current geocosmic patterns and their correlation to historical events, especially involving world economic and financial market cycles. I feel it gives me greater confidence in developing an outlook for the next year, which in turn helps organize my thoughts for investments and position trading. In many cases, I get a sense of inspiration from the discoveries this process yields.

I had an interesting experience this past week that I hadn’t encountered since college. I had a “writer’s block.” Typically, I wake up in the morning with an idea of what I want to examine and/or write, and begin writing all day, or at least until it is time to write my daily report for subscribers after markets close. But that wasn’t happening the previous week or even last week. Nothing was coming to me. My research was not showing anything that I would call “insightful,” or “attention-getting” about 2022 It was dull; I was dull. I was also getting a little anxious because there were only so many days available to write the Forecast Book and they were passing with nothing to show.

So, I thought I would change it up a bit. Instead of waking early in the morning, I started writing late at night. Voila! There it was! Suddenly I found myself to be a late night writer, and ideas and insights began to flow. “What is this about?” I asked myself. Maybe it’s Mercury retrograde. After all, Mercury is my ruling planet, the planet that rules writing, and it is located in my third house of writing. Maybe it’s not just market trends that reverse under retrograde planets like Mercury. Maybe it is ordinary daily routines that get disrupted too.

Now, when you think of blocks in life, like a “writer’s block,” you tend to associate this with Saturn. And so it is not surprising that the next powerful Level 1 geocosmic signature unfolding will be Saturn stationary, turning direct on Monday, October 11. It is a Level 1 (strongest) signature because it has a very high correspondence (70%) to primary or greater cycles in U.S. stock markets within nine trading days. The low of last Wednesday in several world stock indices may be a primary cycle trough or a re-test of one, as it would be only three trading days before Saturn turns stationary. Saturn’s theme is to depress, contract, hold down. It rules walls. Maybe it rules writer’s blocks, too. After all, this Saturn stationary takes place in my fifth house of creativity, and it just happens to be in an exact opposition to my natal Saturn in Leo.

It is so easy to blame Mercury retrograde and the Trickster for anything that goes wrong. And yes, my computer and essential software programs were on the blink last week too, not to mention my doorbell stopped working and the battery to the key lock in my automobile went dead.

Oh, lord. I am so glad I can now recognize Saturn is going stationary this Monday. I can quit blaming Mercury retrograde for all my writers block and turning me from a morning person back into an evening person. It makes me feel like I am in college again. But wait: isn’t Saturn supposed to make you feel old? Maybe that’s just another case of Mercury retrograde reversing reality from what we would normally expect into something totally different.

As far as next week and markets go, Saturn is not the only planet changing direction within a week of October 11. Pluto ended its retrograde motion on October 6. And on October 18, both Mercury and Jupiter will cease their retrograde motions. That’s four planets reversing their retrograde motions to direct within one week of October 11. That’s huge and rare! It would be no wonder if financial markets reversed their trends too. And since geocosmics reflect changes in human activity, the cause of all this is likely to be a change in the focus of the collective. What seemed important before (i.e., debt ceiling, government shut down, increasing cases of the Delta variant), may transition into something else, and with that comes new trends in both thought and market behavior. 

 

Announcements

 

THE OCTOBER ISSUE OF THE MMA CYCLES REPORT is due to come out Tuesday, October 12 (Monday evening, October 11, for the English edition). October is historically the month that is associated with sudden and surprising selloffs for the stock market. Does the primary cycle pattern indicate it will happen again this time? Plus, Mars is approaching late Libra, oftentimes offering an exceptional buying opportunity for Gold. But when is it most likely to happen during this transit? Every issue provides MMA’s intermediate-term and near-term outlook for the U.S. stock market, Gold, Silver, Treasuries, Euro Currency, Crude Oil, and Soybeans. Each issue also contains MMA’s original geocosmic critical reversal dates (CRDs) and Solar/Lunar reversal dates over the next several weeks for DJIA, Gold, and Silver, complete with trading strategies for position traders during the next month. If you are not a subscriber to the monthly MMA Cycles Report and would like a copy of MMA’s outlook for financial markets, consider this issue for 1 month, for only $35 /€ 33. And keep in mind that subscribers to this report will also receive a complimentary mid-term report of MMA Cycles (the “addendum”) written by MMTA student Pouyan Zolfagarnia two weeks later on October 26). Read more about MMA Cycles Report>> and/or in Dutch, check out SMT Cyclus Nieuwsbrief >> 

FORECAST 2022 SPECIAL OFFERS for subscribers

 

Get ready!

The Forecast 2022 eBook and the Annual Forecast Pre-Order Event is now underway. Our preliminary outlook is that 2022 will be another very important year with the long-term Saturn/Uranus square aspect continuing to be in force. Although 2021 is not yet over, several forecasts made in the 2021 book have already unfolded. For a review of the Forecast 2021 Book so far, please visit our Scorecard.

This pre-publication period will be in effect through October 31 and will include our once-a-year sale discounts on both the annual Forecast eBook and MMA Subscription Reports. You may pre-order Forecast 2022 at the discounted rate of $45/€39*. After the pre-order event ends, the price will increase to $55/€49* on November 1st. Orderan eBook and, in combination with any subscription ($275+) save 10% off with purchase of Forecast 2022. After your purchase of an eBook, place a separate order using coupon code REPORT2022 at checkout to receive the subscription discount. Click here for subscription information.

 

Trends for the Twelve Signs 2022 eBook PRE-ORDER

 

This year we are again pleased to announce the publication of our TRENDS FOR THE TWELVE SIGNS 2022 eBook, which will include the individual Sun Signs forecasts. This very popular book on the annual outlook for each sign is written by Antonia Langsdorf-Merriman and Raymond Merriman. Antonia has written an annual Sun Sign book in German for the past several years, based on interviews conducted with me beforehand. We will follow a format this year where Langsdorf will cover the health and relationships outlook and Merriman will cover the business, career and overall psychological outlook of each sign for the year. The cost of this book version is $25/€ 22, with a further discount if ordered with the Forecast 2022 Book To order this Ebook, click here>>

 

Merriman on Market Cycles: The Basics

 

Merriman on Market Cycles: The Basics is now completed and the eBook is out!

The printed edition has just been received in the U.S. on Friday, October 1, and the eBook is also available! Shipment to MarketTiming.NL ison the way. This new edition contains the most comprehensive and modern listing of 175 long-, intermediate-, and short-term financial cycles in over 40 financial, currency, and commodity markets available anywhere! The book is a clearly written text on the MMA methodology for determining cycles periodicities and recognizing patterns within those cycles. . It is a 72-page basic book for those who want to improve their timing skills by integrating cycles analysis with technical studies. It is a glossy softcover, 8-1/2” x 11” with illustrations to demonstrate the correct way to count cycle lengths, identify their phases with instruction on the trading strategies used to successfully trade each phase. The cost of the new version is $35.00
Details for ordering the eBook are available here>> and for the printed book continue here>>

 

 

 

New Option to MMA Monthly Cycles Report!

We are adding a mid-month option to the MMA Cycles Report and SMT Cyclus Nieuwsbrief >> by Pouyan Zolfagarnia, one of the top students in the Merriman Market Timing Academy (MMTA). This is for subscribers of that report only and will be issued as a complimentary addendum through December, after which there will be a charge of $95/year (or $45/three months, or $20/issue) to continue to receive it as an option to MMA Cycles. The first pilot of this addendum went out last week and the reviews are excellent from subscribers who received it. It has very attractive graphics, is written clearly with a little more emphasis on geocosmics (including charts) and is basically an excellent and not-so-technical update of the MMA Cycles Report. If you are a subscriber to the monthly MMA Cycles Report and did not receive the first issue sent out last week, let us know at once. If you wish to receive a copy of this visually and analytically excellent report, you can simply sign up for a: NEW! one-month trial to MMA Cycles/SMT Cyclus Nieuwsbrief and you will also receive both the monthly cycles report and this mid-term addendum. As mentioned, this report will be delivered at no cost to subscribers of MMA Cycles/SMT Cyclus Nieuwsbrief through December 2021. Read more about MMA Cycles Report>> and/or SMT Cyclus Nieuwsbrief >> 

 

Really excellent, with the color-coding and shading, etc. Nice complement to Ray's work and obvious edge of experience. I would definitely subscribe to this. J.N, trader and subscriber.

Just wanted to let you know that I thoroughly enjoyed the first issue of the MMA Monthly Cycle Report Mid-Month Addendum. I felt the analysis was clear and relevant. Looking forward to next month's analysis. If the following months are as insightful as this issue, I will be a purchaser of this subscription. M.T. MMA Cycles subscriber.

 

Coming in January an ETF report by MMTA Director Gianni di Poce 

 

Coming in January! A new ETF report by MMTA Director Gianni di Poce!

We have received many requests for an ETF report as many readers prefer trading ETFs on commodities and financials rather than futures contracts. So, we are organizing a new service for those who wish to have a monthly ETF report. The ETFs to be covered will include a precious metal (probably GLD), stock index (probably an S&P), Treasury Notes or Bonds, and Bitcoin. Stay tuned for more information as plans develop.

For any questions, please contact us via our contact page or call: ++31 294 415 917.

 

 

 

Disclaimer & State of Purpose

The purpose of this column is not to predict the future movement of various financial markets. However, that is the purpose of the Schogt Market Timing & MMA (Merriman Market Analyst) subscription services. This column is not a subscription service. It is a free service, except in those cases where a fee may be assessed to cover the cost of translating this column from English into a non-English language. 

This weekly report is written with the intent to educate the reader on the relationship between astrological factors and collective human activities as they are happening. In this regard, this report will oftentimes report what happened in various stock and financial markets throughout the world in the past week, and discuss that movement in light of the geocosmic signatures that were in effect. It will then identify the geocosmic factors that will be in effect in the next week, or even month, or even years, and the author's understanding of how these signatures will likely affect human activity in the times to come. 

The author (Merriman) will do this from a perspective of a cycle's analyst looking at the military, political, economic, and even financial markets of the world. It is possible that some forecasts will be made based on these factors. However, the primary goal is to both educate and alert the reader as to the psychological climate we are in, from an astrological perspective. The hope is that it will help the reader understand these psychological dynamics that underlie (or coincide with) the news events and hence financial markets of the day.

No guarantee as to the accuracy of this report is being made here. Any decisions in financial markets are solely the responsibility of the reader, and neither the author nor the publishers assume any responsibility at all for those individual decisions. Reader should understand that futures and options trading are considered high risk.

 

Bookmark and Share