You are here
> Home > Weekly Preview >
Market Preview for the week beginning February 12, 2018
Print

Market Preview for the week beginning February 12, 2018

Market Preview for the week beginning February 12, 2018

Market preview goes to Members by email for FREE. Join us today!

 

Review and Preview 

The dollar rose on Friday, putting it on track for its strongest week against a basket of currencies in nearly 15 months as some traders piled into the greenback in a week of tremendous swings felt in stock and bond markets around the world. “Dollar Poised for Best Week in 15 Months Amid Market Turmoil,” Reuters, February 9, 2018.

“Additionally, February 7, +/- 3 trading days, is an MMA one-star CRD (critical reversal date). Plus, we are in the middle of two strong Jupiter squares: Venus square Jupiter on February 4 and Sun square Jupiter on February 10. We have seen the upside of Jupiter aspects over the past several years. That is, they correlated with a state of optimism and euphoria, even irrational exuberance. But now we see the downside of Jupiter when things do not go so well: hysteria, panic, and huge declines in the stock market. Just keep in mind that in both cases, Jupiter exaggerates…. Hard aspects to Jupiter are often the worst of times to make well-thought-out decisions. Additionally, the Moon is in Sagittarius, Jupiter’s homeland, on Thursday and Friday (Feb 8-9), which just exaggerates the exaggerated move even more. But, we are nearing the end of that period this weekend. There is a chance that rationality will soon re-appear, and people will again see things with greater perspective.” – Special Stock Market Update Report sent to Schogt Market Timing & MMA subscribers on Thursday evening, outlining the immediate and near-term picture in stocks.

I shouldn’t take weeks off from this column. Every time I do, it seems that some part of the financial world comes unglued. And when that happens, my email box gets filled with questions, more than I can answer. The stock market certainly came off its tracks last week in what turned out to be one of the wildest weeks ever. Twice, the DJIA had daily losses of over 1000 points, something that has never happened even once before.

However, the carnage was not limited to the USA stock markets. It was widespread and global. It illustrated the darker side of Jupiter transits, something we haven’t seen very much of in the past 9 years. When Jupiter aspects do not correlate with euphoria and optimism, they turn into periods of collective panic and hysteria. Just as the optimism was subject to over-exaggeration, so too the panic is subject to over-exaggeration. Last week saw two hard aspects to Jupiter: a square from Venus to start the week, as the DJIA fell a record 1175 points, and another at the end of the week (February 10), as the DJIA fell over 1000 points on Thursday, followed by another 500 points during the day on Friday before bottoming at 23,360, then reversing to close up 330 points on the day at 24,190. Still, for the week, the DJIA was down 1330 points, to its lowest mark since mid-October. Just two weeks ago, it made an all-time high of 26,616.

The letters received this week were mostly about what the market will do next. Is this the start of a new bear market? Or will stocks come back again? I addressed that topic in detail in a Special Stock Market Report sent out Thursday night, February 8. A copy of that report is available to all subscribers of any MMA Cycles reports, as well as those who ordered a recording of last week’s Forecast 2018 webinar. Call our offices if you are interested in receiving this special update report on the current status of the long-term, intermediate-term, and short-term stock market cycles, or go to our website to order the Webinar, which includes theSpecial Stock Market Report. It’s timely and it gives the roadmap of what I expect over the next few days, weeks, and months. So far, it off to a good start after the first day following the report.

Last week’s devastation was not limited to stocks. Treasuries fell to their lowest level in 6 years – and the specter of higher interest rates by the USA central bank was probably the catalyst for the selloff in equities. When stocks fall in tandem with interest rates rising, it becomes serious. Gold and Silver also got trounced and crude oil closed below $60/barrel for the first time in 7 weeks. Trillions of dollars were lost in market values last week, which makes you wonder: Who made the money that the markets lost?

Very few markets did well last week, except the U.S. Dollar, which is interesting, because that means traders and investors still look to the U.S. Dollar as a safe haven. And this also makes you wonder: with the Dollar having fallen so hard in the past year, why do traders still look to it as a “safe haven?” I know Neptune is in Pisces (2012-2026), but something seems “fishy” about this belief still holding validity. But then again, Jupiter was prominent last week, and as explained in our special report sent out Thursday night, when Jupiter is so prominent, good judgement is usually missing in action. So are profits, which is why there were so many losses last week.

 

  

Short-Term Geocosmics and Longer-Term Thouhgts

A leaked EU memo suggests that the EU is threatening dire consequences if the UK tries to become more competitive after leaving. The EU wishes the UK to be as uncompetitive as the rest of the EU. Or else. – Paul Donovan, “Dodgy Data. Shocking!” UBS Morning Audio Comment, February 1, 2018.

“The last time it was in this sector of the zodiac was April 1932-February 1934, the heart of other Great Depression.” Page 66, Forecast 2018, describing the transit of Uranus to the NYSE chart that is in effect through early 2018.

When I see markets fall as hard as stocks did last week, shortly after a run of consecutive record-breaking new highs, I think of only one planet’s correlation or influence: Uranus. No other planet correlates with such dramatic behavior. Yet, when I look at the heavens, the only aspect involving Uranus is its trine from Saturn, which is hardly the stuff of such drama. True, the 45-year cycle of the Saturn/Uranus waning trine has – in all five historical cases so far – correlated with new all-time highs in the U.S. stock market, after which bear market declines have begun. But the amplitude of the decline, and the hysteria and panic that have accompanied this decline, suggest that something more dramatic, by the language of geocosmic studies, was involved with Uranus. The answer is quite clear, to me, if one examines the chart of the New York Stock Exchange, specifically the “Buttonwood Agreement” chart of May 17, 1792. Here, one will find that today’s stationary transit of Uranus at 26 degrees of Aries, falls right on the NYSE natal Saturn, in opposition to the NYSE Jupiter/Neptune conjunction in 23-27 of Libra. That says it all. That describes exactly the picture of a market soaring to new all-time highs of the past two years, and then suddenly collapsing in record-breaking daily declines.

The good news is that this transit ends shortly. The not so good news is that both the Saturn/Uranus and Jupiter/Neptune waning trines will end this August 2018, +/- 2 months. The eggs that the Golden Goose (Federal Reserve and other world central banks) has laid, have cracked. They will try to put it back together again, just as they did when a similar crack first happened in January 2008. It worked for a while then. But a few months later in 2008, there was a more serious crack that all the king’s men couldn’t put back together again. They had to create a new golden goose to lay new golden eggs, and they named her ZIRP. But ZIRP (Zero Interest Rate Policy) is mature now and not able to inspire such a comeback as was possible in those days right after her birth. Oh, she will probably have some sort of a comeback. But this time she has less arrows in her quiver to use to secure the fuel and food to support everyone (all the politicians) who depend upon her. And her weight (debt) continues to grow. Soon, she may even become a lame duck.

Welcome to the start of “The Great Reset.” It promises to be quite an unusual three-year period.

 

 

 

Announcements

RAY MERRIMAN’S 2018 WORLDWIDE “FORECAST 2018” LIVE WEBINAR

RAY MERRIMAN’S 2018 WORLDWIDE “FORECAST 2018” LIVE WEBINAR

took place on Saturday, February 3, 2018. The MP4 recording are now available. It came out very well. This broadcast addressed subjects from this year’s Forecast 2018 Book, with updates on several financial and commodity markets such as Bitcoin, the U.S. stock market, Gold and Silver, Currencies. Crude oil and Live cattle (Uranus in Taurus).

In addition, all purchasers of this recording will receive a free copy of MMA’s Special Stock Market Report that was issued on Thursday evening, February 8. Or, if you subscribe to any MMA Reports, you will also receive a free copy of this report. Otherwise, the cost for this special report is $50.00>>

To order the Worldwide Forecast 2018 Webinar and MMA’s Special Stock Market Report continue here>>

LEARN THE MMA MARKET TIMING METHODS FOR FINANCIAL MARKETS!!!

We have recently begun teaching an online MMA Financial Market Timing course to about 50 students in China. Through an agreement with the NoDoor school, these classes are being recorded and converted to an MP4 format. Each class is two hours long, with Chinese translation, and is packed with information on how to understand the language of cycle studies, chart patterns within cycles, and trend analysis. There will be 8 classes in all, and the first four classes of the MP4s are expected to be available through our website in about two weeks. If you are interested in learning about cycles and market timing methods of MMA, this is a course you will find to take. The cost will be $145.00/class, or $995 for all 8 classes as they become available right after they are conducted. This is a savings of over $1000 from Course 1 of the MMTA courses taught three years ago. Watch this column for further information on ordering, just as soon as the conversion of the first half of the course (first 4 classes) is completed, due within the next two weeks.

Forecast 2018 Book

The Forecast 2018 Book is out !

It is 200 pages, and relevant now. You may still order the Forecast 2018 Book at the current price of € 47/ $55.00 plus postage and VAT or the Ebook format, same price, no postage or the Dutch version with analysis of the AEX in 2018, Financiële Vooruitzichten 2018 now for €49.95 plus postage and VAT.

For further information, read here>>

MMA Daily and Weekly

Our weekly and daily subscription reports continue to be very profitable in almost every market analyzed -especially stock indices. If you are an active short-term trader, or even if you are an investor who likes to keep up with our current thoughts on financial markets, you will be interested in MMA’s Weekly or Daily Market reports. These weekly reports give an in-depth analysis of the DJIA, S&P and NASDAQ futures, Euro currency (cash and futures), Dollar/Yen cash and Yen futures, Euro/Yen cash, British Pound, Bitcoin, T-Notes, Soybeans, Gold and Silver, and Crude Oil, and now, the British Pound! The daily reports cover all stock indices listed above, as well as futures in the Euro Currency, Japanese Yen, T-Notes, Gold and Silver, plus GLD and SLV (the Gold and Silver ETF’s). Both reports provide trading strategies and recommendations for position traders as well as for shorter-term aggressive traders. Subscription to the daily report also includes the weekly report. These reports are valuable to those who trade Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs). Subscription to the daily report also includes the weekly report.

Disclaimer & State of Purpose

The purpose of this column is not to predict the future movement of various financial markets. However, that is the purpose of the Schogt Market Timing & MMA (Merriman Market Analyst) subscription services. This column is not a subscription service. It is a free service, except in those cases where a fee may be assessed to cover the cost of translating this column from English into a non-English language.

This weekly report is written with the intent to educate the reader on the relationship between astrological factors and collective human activities as they are happening. In this regard, this report will oftentimes report what happened in various stock and financial markets throughout the world in the past week, and discuss that movement in light of the geocosmic signatures that were in effect. It will then identify the geocosmic factors that will be in effect in the next week, or even month, or even years, and the author's understanding of how these signatures will likely affect human activity in the times to come.

The author (Merriman) will do this from a perspective of a cycle's analyst looking at the military, political, economic, and even financial markets of the world. It is possible that some forecasts will be made based on these factors. However, the primary goal is to both educate and alert the reader as to the psychological climate we are in, from an astrological perspective. The hope is that it will help the reader understand these psychological dynamics that underlie (or coincide with) the news events and hence financial markets of the day.

No guarantee as to the accuracy of this report is being made here. Any decisions in financial markets are solely the responsibility of the reader, and neither the author nor the publishers assume any responsibility at all for those individual decisions. Reader should understand that futures and options trading are considered high risk.

Bookmark and Share