You are here
> Home > Weekly Preview >
Market Preview for the week beginning August 26, 2019

Blog archive Preview

September 2021 (2 messages)August 2021 (5 messages)July 2021 (4 messages)June 2021 (4 messages)May 2021 (5 messages)April 2021 (4 messages)March 2021 (4 messages)February 2021 (4 messages)January 2021 (5 messages)December 2020 (3 messages)November 2020 (4 messages)October 2020 (4 messages)September 2020 (4 messages)August 2020 (5 messages)July 2020 (4 messages)June 2020 (4 messages)May 2020 (4 messages)April 2020 (4 messages)March 2020 (5 messages)February 2020 (4 messages)January 2020 (4 messages)December 2019 (5 messages)November 2019 (4 messages)October 2019 (2 messages)September 2019 (5 messages)August 2019 (3 messages)July 2019 (3 messages)June 2019 (4 messages)May 2019 (3 messages)April 2019 (3 messages)March 2019 (5 messages)February 2019 (4 messages)January 2019 (4 messages)December 2018 (5 messages)November 2018 (4 messages)October 2018 (4 messages)September 2018 (5 messages)August 2018 (4 messages)July 2018 (4 messages)June 2018 (5 messages)May 2018 (3 messages)April 2018 (4 messages)March 2018 (4 messages)February 2018 (3 messages)January 2018 (5 messages)December 2017 (4 messages)November 2017 (4 messages)October 2017 (5 messages)September 2017 (4 messages)August 2017 (4 messages)July 2017 (5 messages)June 2017 (4 messages)May 2017 (4 messages)April 2017 (5 messages)March 2017 (3 messages)February 2017 (4 messages)January 2017 (4 messages)December 2016 (4 messages)November 2016 (4 messages)October 2016 (4 messages)September 2016 (4 messages)August 2016 (4 messages)July 2016 (5 messages)June 2016 (3 messages)May 2016 (4 messages)April 2016 (5 messages)March 2016 (4 messages)February 2016 (4 messages)January 2016 (5 messages)December 2015 (3 messages)November 2015 (5 messages)October 2015 (4 messages)September 2015 (3 messages)August 2015 (5 messages)July 2015 (4 messages)June 2015 (4 messages)May 2015 (5 messages)April 2015 (4 messages)March 2015 (5 messages)February 2015 (3 messages)January 2015 (4 messages)December 2014 (3 messages)November 2014 (5 messages)October 2014 (4 messages)September 2014 (4 messages)August 2014 (4 messages)July 2014 (4 messages)June 2014 (4 messages)May 2014 (4 messages)April 2014 (4 messages)March 2014 (4 messages)February 2014 (4 messages)January 2014 (4 messages)December 2013 (2 messages)November 2013 (3 messages)

Weighted values
Index 20 September 2021

DJIA:
Silver:

Read more »
Print

Market Preview for the week beginning August 26, 2019

Market Preview for the week beginning August 26, 2019

Market preview goes to Members by email for FREE. Join us today!

 

 

Review & Preview

 

Stocks fell on Friday after President Donald Trump ordered in a series tweets that U.S. companies find alternatives to their operations in China. “Our great American companies are hereby ordered to immediately start looking for an alternative to China, including bringing… your companies HOME and making your products in the USA,” Trump tweeted. “The threats always been out there but there’s been no need to provoke that,” said Art Hogan, chief market strategist at National Securities. “It’s almost like the administration was expecting the Fed to announce a rate cut at the Jackson hole meeting. And since Powell did not deliver, he went to defcon 5.” – Fed Imbert, “Trump Orders U.S. Companies to Look for Alternative to China,” https://www.cnbc.com, August 23, 2019.

Central banks are just getting started with monetary easing, hedge fund manager Kyle Bass said, predicting U.S. interest rates will keep falling and follow global interest rates all the way down to zero. “We’re the only country that has an integer in front of our bond yields. We have 90% of the world’s investment-grade debt. We actually have rule of law and we have a decent economy. All the money is going to come here,” Bass, founder and chief investment officer of Hayman Capital Management, told CNBC on Tuesday.- Fred Imbert, “Kyle Bass Says U.S. Interest Rates Will Follow the Rest of the World to Zero – “This is Insane,” https://www.cnbc.com, August 20, 2019.

We are back to chasing hurricanes again. It was a lovely break, getting married on a fabulous Rhine River Cruise ship and honeymooning in the lush, rolling hills and vineyards of Tuscany, Italy. But delving back into the world of twitter storms and “insane” economic and political policies causing chaos in financial markets is what I do when I am not getting married, so I return to … the other world reality. It seems the president and I are asking some deep questions lately. Earlier in the day, he tweeted: “Who is our biggest enemy? Fed Chairman Powell or Chinese President Xi?” (hint: the answer is neither). My question is much simpler: “Which is the real reality? The soft, relaxing lifestyle of Tuscany, or the chaos of sudden tweets and news stories on my computer screen leading to another avalanche in world equity markets?”

All seemed well until Friday. Stock markets were recovering nicely following their double bottom lows of August 7 and 15, surrounding the Jupiter and Uranus stations of August 11. But those rallies ended abruptly on Friday, shortly after the Sun entered the practical sign of Virgo, when China announced new tariffs on another $75 billion worth of American goods, including automobiles, in retaliation for tariffs the U.S. declared on Chinese goods a few weeks ago. The Chinese had announced back then that they would retaliate, and the markets took the announcement in stride, until the president’s Twitter rage was unleashed. It was classic astrology in action, for as stated at the end of last week’s column, “The major geocosmic changes of this week involve the Sun, Venus, and Mars all leaving the sign of Leo for Virgo. This has importance to the chart of President Donald Trump, for each will cross his natal Ascendant and Mars in late Leo.” Mars symbolizes the urge to fight, to act aggressively and impulsively. That’s fine in and of itself. But once it reacts in anger or rage, nothing can stop it until it exhausts itself. By then, there can be unintended consequences, such as another leg down, another crash in the stock market, which is the last thing the President wants. Once again, this is typical bear market behavior. The market goes up in steps, then gives it all back and more, very suddenly, as it goes down in elevators.

 

 

Short-Term Geocosmics and Longer-Term Thoughts 

 

Germany’s central bank has warned that Europe’s largest economy is likely to tip into recession in the third quarter, dragged down by a sharp drop in exports and a decline in industrial production. – Martin Arnold, “Bundesbank Adds to Fears of German Recession as Trade Wars and Brexit Hit,” Financial Times, August 20, 2019.

The next 3-4 weeks will see a deluge of conflicting geocosmic signatures, which could prove to be very confusing to investors. Perhaps they are pondering the question asked by President Trump as to who is the biggest enemy to the U.S. Is it the one he often refers to as his friend, President Xi, or his own appointment to head the Fed, Jerome Powell? By the way, when I was in China in June, in an act of extraordinary diplomacy, President Xi confirmed publicly that President Trump “is my friend,” but President Putin “is my best friend.” You may wonder what that has to do with financial markets. It illustrates China’s decision to develop a greater trading relationship with Russia (and other countries) in lieu of its uncertainty in trading with the U.S. China is finding new markets to purchase from and to sell to, replacing its former reliance on the U.S. as a stable trading partner. They are developing longer-term strategies, and adjusting, as trade alliances around the world are changing (to their advantage). The U.S. leadership is not adjusting, except to command U.S. companies to come back to America and produce their products here. Is that smart? Is this even realistic? I don’t know, because I am trying to figure out what is real and what is not. Tuscany seemed real. This does not. But if it works, then OK. If not, then we should all find our Tuscany.

But let us return to the short-term geocosmic picture. Venus and Mars (the lovers or quarrelers) are in conjunction to one another in the perfection-oriented (i.e. critical) sign of Virgo, and in a harmonious trine aspect Uranus, August 24 through August 28. The Sun will also form a trine to Uranus on August 29. Normally, one would think that would boost equity markets and indicate a breakthrough in negotiations. It could, especially as those same planets then form a trine to Saturn and Pluto, September 1-19. But behind those soft trines lie more potent cosmic forces: the conjunction of Sun and Mars on September 2 and the third and final passage of the Jupiter/Neptune mutable waning square on September 21. During the first two weeks of September, the Sun/Venus/Mars transits will form a hard T-square aspect to Jupiter and Neptune. This is why September could be a very confusing time, with contradictory messages announced. It may be fraught with rumors, resulting in either “irrational exuberance” or hysteria – or one followed by the other, as the facts cancel out the rumors, and/or hopes are dashed by the facts. Stock markets of the world may swing wildly during the first 2-3 weeks of September.

Longer-term, the question remains as to whether the Jupiter-in-Sagittarius transit (November 8, 2018 through December 2, 2019) has already correlated with the market top (I think it has, but it is still not confirmed), and/or the Sun/Mars conjunction selloff is over. As pointed out several times in this column, there is a strong historical correlation between the culmination of long-term cycle crests in the U.S. stock indices during the transit of Jupiter in Sagittarius, that usually ends at least two months before the transit ends. Ideally, that high happens nearby to Jupiter passing the middle degrees of Sagittarius. On August 11, 2019, Jupiter went stationary at the almost exact midpoint of Sagittarius. Thus, Jupiter is in the middle of Sagittarius (say 13-17 degrees), July through September.

To the Jupiter-in-Sagittarius passage, we can add the importance of the Sun/Mars conjunction on September 2. Within 4 weeks of that date, history has demonstrated that world stock indices are vulnerable to an 8% or greater decline from the high that happens during or slightly before that period. The highs of July fit this pattern. Thus, we could be amid that 8% or greater decline even now, and if so, it could end during this time frame too. But even if it does end by October, the Jupiter transit leaving Sagittarius for Capricorn on December 2 has a more bearish than bullish history. There may be a rally off the Sun/Mars low, but it doesn’t necessarily mean there will be a new all-time high that follows.

The Jupiter/Neptune aspects of September also pertain to Crude Oil, which has been flirting with the $50 mark for three months now. The first two passages of this aspect have also coincided with major cycle lows in Gold, which were followed by strong rallies. It may be the end of summer, but financial markets seem to be heating up.

 

 

 

Announcements

 

 

The MMA Monthly Cycles Report

will be issued this week (Monday night-Tuesday) to all active subscribers of that report. With the new all -time high in stocks, plus the new 6-year cycle high in Gold, and now Silver breaking out as well, this will be a very timely and important longer-term outlook on many markets. This report contains not only our outlook for U.S. stock indices (DJIA and S&P futures), Gold and Silver, but also Treasuries, Euro Currency, Crude Oil and Soybeans. Each issue also contains MMA’s original geocosmic critical reversal dates (CRDs) and Solar/Lunar reversal dates over the next several weeks for DJIA, Gold, and Silver. If you are not a subscriber to the monthly MMA Cycles Reports and wish a copy of this month’s outlook for financial markets, consider taking out a subscription NOW. Go to MMA Cycles Report or its Dutch translated version, including AEX, the SMT Cyclus Nieuwsbrief>> 

 
Forecast 2020 

The pre-order sale for Forecast 2020 is underway as of August 12!

This once-a-year sale includes discounts on both the annual Forecast Book and MMA subscription report and will be in effect through October 31. You may pre-order Forecast 2020 now at the discounted rate of $45. After our sale ends, the price will increase to $55 on November 1st. Order both an eBook and print book (Forecast 2020 Bundle) for only $65, a savings of $45 off the standard rates. Save 10% off any subscription ($275+) with purchase of Forecast 2020. Use code SALE2020 at checkout to receive the subscription discount. Lees verder>>> 

 
Forecast 2020 

MMA’s 2019 Scorecard (from Forecast 2019 Book)

as of August 10, 2019, is now available for viewing!
Lees verder>>> 

Forecast 2020 


Now is the perfect time to check out our NEW International Cycles Financials and Commodities Reports which debuted in July 2019! I
If you purchase Forecast 2020 AND 1-Year subscription of the ICR: Financials and/or ICR: Commodities, you will receive 3 Months of the other ICR report for FREE! Lees verder>>> 

Cycles Analysis and Planeatry Signatures - translated to your asset portfolio

Would you like to protect your investment portfolio from periods of economic setback?


You have come to the right place. The Cycles Analysis & Planetary Synschronicities managed Portfolio (CAPS) invests based on analysis made by top graduates of the Merriman Market Timing Academy (MI, 2013-2015) with healthy track-records.
Read more>>

 

 

MMA’s Daily and Weekly subscription reports

are the best way to keep up with rapidly changing markets! If you are an active short-term trader, or even if you are an investor who likes to keep up with our current thoughts on financial markets, you will be interested in MMA’s Weekly or Daily Market reports. The Weekly reports give an in-depth analysis of the DJIA, S&P and NASDAQ futures, Euro currency (cash and futures), Dollar/Yen cash and Yen futures, Euro/Yen cash, Swiss Franc, T-Notes, Soybeans, Crude Oil, Gold and Silver, and Bitcoin. The Daily reports cover all stock indices listed above, as well as the Euro Currency, Japanese Yen, Bitcoin, T-Notes, Gold and Silver, plus GLD and SLV (the Gold and Silver ETF’s). Both reports provide trading strategies and recommendations for position traders and shorter-term aggressive traders. Subscription to the Daily report also includes the Weekly report. Consider taking out a subscription now to be included in our annual subscriber-only sale that begins next month.

“Thanks to MMA, I have closed 36 trades this year (2018) with a win rate of 86% (the remaining 14% were due errors on my part, as I have been actively trading less than a year). Ray’s predictive ability is remarkable. No one predicts more accurately. I highly recommend his daily newsletter which covers many markets. It appears expensive, but it’s a serious money-maker. My advice: get it now.” Robert W. - San Antonio, Texas.

For further information, visit www.markettiming.nl | Webshop | Newsletters or go directly to Reports and scroll down to the report of your choice.  

Saturnus guarding your privacy

 

Privacy Statement

In accordance with the commencing of the General Data Protection Regulation (AVG), we have included our privacy statement on our website. We do not place cookies. We do not keep any records of you except for name and address details that are necessary in the event that you order something that needs to be paid for and sent out. Read more>>

 

 

Disclaimer & State of Purpose

The purpose of this column is not to predict the future movement of various financial markets. However, that is the purpose of the Schogt Market Timing & MMA (Merriman Market Analyst) subscription services. This column is not a subscription service. It is a free service, except in those cases where a fee may be assessed to cover the cost of translating this column from English into a non-English language.

This weekly report is written with the intent to educate the reader on the relationship between astrological factors and collective human activities as they are happening. In this regard, this report will oftentimes report what happened in various stock and financial markets throughout the world in the past week, and discuss that movement in light of the geocosmic signatures that were in effect. It will then identify the geocosmic factors that will be in effect in the next week, or even month, or even years, and the author's understanding of how these signatures will likely affect human activity in the times to come.

The author (Merriman) will do this from a perspective of a cycle's analyst looking at the military, political, economic, and even financial markets of the world. It is possible that some forecasts will be made based on these factors. However, the primary goal is to both educate and alert the reader as to the psychological climate we are in, from an astrological perspective. The hope is that it will help the reader understand these psychological dynamics that underlie (or coincide with) the news events and hence financial markets of the day.

No guarantee as to the accuracy of this report is being made here. Any decisions in financial markets are solely the responsibility of the reader, and neither the author nor the publishers assume any responsibility at all for those individual decisions. Reader should understand that futures and options trading are considered high risk.

Bookmark and Share